Dunmore House still stands as a private residence on the Paterson River near the village of Largs. The house was built on the estate of Dunmore that was granted to George Lang in 1822. On George's death in 1825, Dunmore passed to his brother Andrew.
Dunmore House was initially Andrew Lang's home, and the back portion of the house was completed by 1827. The rest of the home was completed by 1833. Andrew Lang was a brother of the well known colonial cleric, politician and historian John Dunmore Lang.
Dunmore House, Patersons River, 1837. Watercolour by Robert Russell.
Early photo of Dunmore House (unknown source).
Dunmore House (Athel D'Ombrain). The verandah detail has changed compared to the above painting and earlier photo.
Notes and references
1. Wood, Alan. Dawn in the Valley. Sydney: Wentworth Books, 1972, p24.
2. Mitchell, Cecily. Hunter's River. Newcastle: 1973; 1984, p189.